Ganapati by Chilakamarthi Lakshmi Narasimham

గణపతి(Ganapathi)గణపతి by చిలకమర్తి లక్ష్మీనరసింహం (Chilakamarthi Lakshmi Narasimham)

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was recommended to me long ago by my husband but I neglected after reading few pages because it was in old Telugu. But I seriously decided this time to complete it and make it the first one for this year. I finally succeeded. I would have missed a great comic novel if I had neglected it again. The language shouldn’t be a hindrance to read the book. One would find it enjoyable after a few pages and can read at normal speed.

Written in old Telugu, this book narrates the biography of a young man, Ganapati, of Pappubhotla family, residing in villages near the Godavari river. The book begins with the way in which the author got acquainted with Ganapati and goes on to describe the family history of our hero. Later he narrates the birth, childhood and later years of Ganapati. It does not carry the entire life story of Ganapati. The author laments that he was unable to get the details of remaining stages of our hero’s life.

This is a very entertaining work from Chilakamarthi’s pen. The narration appears serious but is sarcastic and funny to the core. With 20 chapters, the book is a treat to Telugu lovers. I liked the book very much.

View all my reviews

Tell the author how you feel..

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *